Ways to Style the Chunky Sweater

The chunky sweater. It can be a hard item to wear style right and wear confidently. Many people are under the impression that over-sized clothing makes you look over-sized. This can be true but it is not always true. I knit this SUPER chunky sweater last year for myself. I love it and always get so many compliments on it. I think this is because I’ve figured out just what outfits go with it.

Processed with VSCOcam with a8 preset

Start with a tighter shirt or tank top! The sweater is baggy enough so avoid wearing a baggy shirt underneath. I love pairing this sweater with a casual grey tank top.

My Toad Trips And Donuts Tank is from Wish You Were Northwest. This shirt is great because it can be super casual or a little dressed-up. I wear it all the time.

Processed with VSCOcam with a8 preset

Black leggings are my best friend. I have a million pairs. Judge all you want but they look freaking amazing paired with over-sized sweaters!

I get typically get my leggings from Forever21                                                                  Forever21 has some great $10 leggings and since I go though them like crazy I avoid expensive leggings.

Processed with VSCOcam with a8 preset

The pencil skirt. It can totally make an outfit. I kept the same tank for this look and tucked it in for a casual work look. One problem with my particular chunky sweater is that it’s 100% wool and it sheds like CRAZY. I later tried pairing it with a light colored pencil skirt which works much better. If your sweater doesn’t shed though, black pencil skirts are where it’s at! I got mine from H&M.

Processed with VSCOcam with 2 preset

How do you like to style over-sized sweaters?

Leave a Reply

